SCAD FASH: Oscar de la Renta Exhibit

Hey Loves!

This past weekend I had the pleasure of visiting the Oscar de la Renta exhibit at SCAD FASH: Museum of Fashion in Atlanta. This was a surprise birthday gift from my best friend because she knows I’m such a nerd for fashion. I had no idea this exhibit existed, but I was excited to go! Check out some of my favorite pieces from the exhibit.

IMG_2204

FullSizeRender To the left of me is from Resort 2014 collection. Taylor Swift wore this evening dress to the “Charles James: Beyond Fashion” Met Gala in 2014

Outfit Details: Shoes: BCBG Booties | Pants: Celebrity Jeans| Top: GB by Gianni Bini| Vest: H&M  Faux Fur Vest| Bag: Betsey Johnson Bow Shopper Bag

FullSizeRender_3 Peter Copping, who is Creative Director, Fall 2015 RTW (First four designs from the left and the last design on the right) | The second to the right is Pre-Fall 2006 tulle coat with beaded embroidery

FullSizeRender_1 (2) Get into the details of this jeweled embroidered wool jacket. Amazing right?
IMG_2247On the left is an evening dress worn by Catie Marron (Former editor for Vogue) and on the right is a wedding dress Huma Abedin wore to her wedding. Both of the gowns are so gorgeous up close!
FullSizeRender This beautiful silk brocade evening dress was worn by Ivanka Trump to the Charles James: Beyond Fashion 2014 Met Gala. Isn’t this dress a beauty? The detailing of this dress is impeccable!

image (2) I almost lost it when I saw this dress! Sarah Jessica Parker wore this exact gown to 2014 Met Gala. I believe this dress was custom made for SJP and it was my absolute fave at the Met Gala last year.

FullSizeRender (4) I thought this wedding dress was unique, which was worn by Miranda Brooks. One of the students at SCAD told me the printed flowers on the dress were inspired by Miranda Brooks children Poppy and Violette.

FullSizeRender_1 (4) Of course, this evening dress was inspired by Marie Antoinette. When I saw this dress I knew immediately where it was from.  If you read Vogue, then you will know this was worn by Kirsten Dunst in 2006 September issue.

image (5) Both of these dresses were flamenco inspired and I really loved the prints on both of them.

FullSizeRender_2 (2)

So…when I saw this dress…I completely lost my cool for a minute! I gagged! I literally had a moment of me just staring at this dress.  This gown is off the runway Resort 2013 RTW. And the one and only Beyoncé Knowles wore this dress in her photoshoot for 2013 March issue of Vogue.

FullSizeRender_4

Here is an up close picture of the dress.

FullSizeRender_1

Overall, I had great time at the exhibit. To actually see some of the pieces Oscar created was breath taking in person. It was definitely one of the highlights of my birthday weekend. If you are in the Atlanta area and interested in visiting the exhibit head to Scadfash.org to get your tickets. The exhibit is open until Dec. 31.
cropped-header2.png

Leave a Reply

